Recipe Box | Fish with Mango-Avocado Salsa + Cauliflower Mash

So I’ve been really trying to eat on the lighter side and cooking with only fresh ingredients in an effort to eat clean. But I have to be honest, preparing some sort of lean protein and a random veggie just sounds…well, boring. My husband and I are both big foodies and love to take our palettes on an adventure. Not saying that all funky food is bad for you but what I am saying is that eating healthy takes a lot of thought and effort and you have to be careful with what you choose to consume.

After speaking with a couple of coworker girlfriends – I found a way to slightly reinvent the wheel. I was inspired by one of their suggestions which was doing a mashed cauliflower as a starch replacement. This is something I had seen on Pinterest before but had never heard of anyone actually trying it and let me just tell you, she raved about how good it was. As mentioned, I’m super valiant when it comes to food so I figured, why not give it a go?

I decided to accompany the cauliflower mash with fish as the main attraction. My husband and I both love seafood and knowing how good it is for you just makes it that much more satisfying. I had envisioned making a mango-avocado salsa to add on top of the fish so I wanted to find a tasty white fish. I went to the grocery store looking for something that was on special. To my surprise, I saw some beautiful swordfish filets that were relatively inexpensive. I love swordfish and it is not often that I come across it. I picked up the rest of my ingredients and managed to escape the store for around $30.

To make a long story short, dinner turned out just lovely and although Sean was a little skeptical about the cauliflower mash (he loves his potatoes), he was extremely impressed with how it turned out and tasted. Check out the recipe below – I would highly recommend it! Keep in mind, this delicious salsa mixture I created would be fantastic on chicken as well for those of you who don’t do fish. I baked the fish in the oven so you could do the same with the chicken although it would need a bit longer which will vary on the part of the chicken you decide to make.

photo

For the Fish:

I picked up two swordfish filets but you can use any white fish

For the Mango-Avocado Salsa:

2 medium-sized mangos

3 small-medium avocados

1/2 of a medium-large red onion

1/3 cup of fresh, chopped cilantro (you can add more if you like)

salt + pepper to taste

For the Cauliflower Mash:

1 medium head of cauliflower cut into florets

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1/2 cup Greek yogurt

3/4 teaspoon of salt

1/2 teaspoon of pepper

1 tablespoon chopped fresh chives or green onion (garnish)

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
  • Heat a dutch oven on the stove with a water depth of 1/4 inch.
  • Prep the cauliflower head and chop into florets.
  • Put the florets into the dutch oven and cook covered for 7-10 minutes over medium-high heat.
  • While the oven is heating up and the cauliflower florets are cooking, prep all of the ingredients for the mango-avocado salsa. Chop everything up and combine it all in a medium bowl. You want everything to be mixed together so that it is all distributed evenly but not mashed (as we all know – avocado is very soft and delicate). Once this is complete, go ahead and cover the bowl and put it in the fridge to stay cold.
  • Lightly spray a baking sheet with cooking spray. Once the oven is heated, lightly salt and pepper the fish (on both sides) and then put them on the baking sheet. Stick the baking sheet in the oven and let the fish cook for 15 minutes.
  • Once the 15 minutes is up, take out the fish and turn them over. Cook for an additional 10 minutes.
  • While the fish is baking, drain the water from the cauliflower florets and put them in a food processor along with the Greek yogurt, salt and pepper for about 1 minute or until smooth. You may need to stop the food processor to scrape the sides as needed.
  • Place the blended cauliflower into a bowl and stir in the Parmesan cheese. Put this to the side.
  • Once the fish has cooked for the additional 10 minutes, take it out of the oven to cool.
  • Put the bowl of cauliflower mash in the microwave to head up for about 1 1/2 minutes on high (stirring about halfway through).
  • Arrange fish on on a plate, spoon the mango-avocado salsa on top of it. Add a lime wedge to the plate for some extra flavor. Add the cauliflower mash and garnish with the chives or green onion (if desired). Serve immediately.

This is a very simple dinner that is both delicious and healthy! You could even take the cauliflower mash a step further and make some brown butter on the stove to pour over it – it’s something I’m definitely going to be trying next time! If you’ve never given cauliflower mash a try before, I would highly recommend doing so (even if you are a little scared to step out of your comfort zone). Enjoy!

signature

Leave a Reply

