{ HOME } is Wherever I’m with You

So in case you are not already aware, the hubs and I are starting to move into our first real home as a married couple – weeeee! It’s the cutest little bungalow in the Plaza Midwood neighborhood of Charlotte, NC and we couldn’t be more ecstatic! New hardwood floors are in and the counter tops should be here and installed any day now (it is seriously gorg).

Ocean_Shell

{ Our recycled glass counter tops in “Ocean Shell” }

As exciting as all of this is, we are now faced with the daunting task of purging and packing. Let me just tell you, if I could pay someone to do all of this for me I would because when I say I loathe moving…I mean it in a very passionate way. However, I have opted to take on the beast because I do not want to shell out extra cash for someone to pack my things for me while I am very capable of accomplishing it on my own. The problem is, I tend to look at everything from a macro perspective and when I see everything that I have to go through and prepare to move, I get slightly overwhelmed. Even with us leaving our wedding gifts in their original boxes, we still have a ton of belongings and it frightens me that so much has to be transported from one house to another. #firstworldproblems. Aside from having to remind myself to breathe during this process, I have to provide myself with little things to look forward to in order to stay motivated. As the saying goes…gotta keep on truckin’. So in light of this stressful situation, I’ve decided to focus on the fun components of it and dedicate this post to my decorating plans for the new casa.

We are going to first touch on my color inspiration followed by the look we’re trying to achieve and ending with the paint colors I’ve chosen. However, I’m going to ask you (my lovely blog readers), for feedback regarding the kitchen color. Just comment at the end of the post with your vote because I am quite stumped and desperately need your opinion! Enjoy, loves!

Interior_Page_1

Shahin and I are on the same wavelength regarding the hues of the new house. We both really love grays, neutrals and blues. I’ve never met anyone who loves the beach as my as my husband, so he was immediately sold on the idea of utilizing ocean colors in our decor. I myself have always been a big fan of the dusty blue color (a light shade of blue with a gray undertone) and drawn to different grays and neutrals. Above is a mood board that I created which include my inspiration and the words that come to mind when I think about the feng shui of our new home.

Style

Now, you can imagine how over the last year I have been trolling Pinterest to nail down the look and feel we are going for in the new house. Shahin and I are both very similar so it made choosing our signature style fairly simple. We’re both free-spirited, music lovers, DIYers, eclectic, enjoy art and love a mix of modern, handmade, vintage, primitive, flea market chic, simplistic, farmhouse, rustic, natural and eclectic. I know, it’s a lot and some of these descriptions contradict one another. But once you see all of the elements together, it will make perfect sense. Imagine: Etsy, West Elm, Pottery Barn & Crate and Barrel…all mixed together with some thrift store and antique shop finds.

Paint

I have to admit, I have become rather obsessed with Benjamin Moore‘s paint colors. Like WHOA. I have spent countless hours in Lowes, Blackhawk Hardware and the Benjamin Moore store itself…just standing there like the crazy paint lady comparing different swatches. For me, trying to determine the perfect shade of gray and the perfect blue was fairly difficult (it’s the perfectionist in me) – but I eventually accomplished what I set out to do. These beautiful paint colors are what I’ve nailed down for the new place. However, I am still pulling my hair out over the kitchen color and I’ve narrowed it down to three (yay for progress). So what do you think? I’m officially taking votes so leave your comments below!

Building a home can be so much fun…stay tuned for more updates to come! I can’t wait to share all of my decorating, entertaining and DIY projects with you!

signature

 

4 thoughts on “{ HOME } is Wherever I’m with You

  1. Pingback: The Big Move | wander + bloom

Leave a Reply

