DIY | China Cabinet Makeover

Hello lovelies!

It’s been a little over a week since I’ve posted last but I have something pretty darn amazing to share with you today! The hubs and I are officially moved in to our little bungalow (circa 1929) and we are absolutely loving it! It’s been a hectic few weeks but we are finally finding our groove and getting back to some level of normalcy. Now, I have not yet had the opportunity to really decorate and put my personal touch on much, however, I know that comes with time. The important thing is that we are finally making our way through the boxes, clutter, and chaos.

Right before we moved, Shahin’s amazing father and step mom offered up a couple of great pieces that they were not using for our bedroom and dining room: an older dresser and china cabinet. I am not sure if anyone could comprehend how much this had me over the moon. Sure, we could go out and spend a fortune on all brand new furniture like many newlyweds do…OR we could take something preexisting with some character that just needs a little updating. Don’t get me wrong here, I am no expert when it comes to the DIY and furniture game…I am a novice at best. However, I’ve always been artistic and love projects so I was up for the challenge. The great thing about older pieces of furniture (or older anything, really) is that I can appreciate what it is but can also see the potential it has.

Right off the bat, I had a good idea of what I wanted to do with each piece. I am going to “unveil” both of them in the blog but this week, I will be unveiling the china cabinet! So without further adieu, below are the before and after pictures of this gorgeous china cabinet with information on what I did and how I did it!

Enjoy!

signature

This is where it all began – a wooden china cabinet. This piece was well constructed, sturdy and had a great deal of potential. The design and structure itself were beautiful and the beveled glass doors were swoon worthy.

photo 11

I went to Lowe’s and picked out the perfect shade of “Greige” (Gray/Beige). It was a tough decision but I ended up going with Valspar’s “Coastal Villa” (the image below really doesn’t do it justice). What I love about the shade is that it can have both warm and cool undertones as it picks up on the color palette of the room you have it in. This ultimately makes the piece very versatile if we ever decide to repaint the walls or move houses. Along with the paint, I picked up a few sandpaper sponges (course texture) so I could rough up the look of the cabinet once I was done as my goal was to make it ever so slightly distressed.

f095192bc74133eb74c1c6ec925ab296

{ Valspar’s Coastal Villa – the color chosen for the cabinet }

I removed all of the glass and got to painting right away. I did about two thin coats to ensure that I had covered all of my bases. I knew knobs were going to be something I needed as soon as possible so I popped into one of my favorite stores of all time, Anthropologie, and picked up a couple of knobs I’d been eying. Here’s the thing, with our dresser (which I will be posting about soon, stay tuned), I wanted to save some money because we had 8 knobs to buy. I decided to splurge with this particular project since I was a little more frugal with the last. If you know Anthropologie, you know that almost everything there is quite pricey – even the knobs I purchased were $10/piece. It’s not so bad when you only need 2 but think if you needed 8 – aye yi yi!

The associate at Anthro that was checking me out at the counter was super sweet but began probing me on the reason why I was purchasing knobs. I explained to her that I was upcycling a vintage china cabinet. No exaggeration at all…her jaw dropped. Becoming even more inquisitive, she started asking me how one would refinish a china cabinet and how long I had been in the business. I laughed and told her that this was just something personal I was doing for fun. It honestly kind of baffled me that someone (close in age) could not grasp the concept of taking something old and revamping it. Like the pure thought of not purchasing something brand new defined insanity. Is it really that unusual to update something? No. Intimidating? Maybe a little. The key is to go into every project with a positive attitude. If you’re anxious or even terrified, that’s okay! Fear the unknown but embrace it because what harm is it really going to do? At the end of the day, you may discover that you have a talent or knack for something and even if you don’t feel that way, perhaps you’ve come across a fun hobby. As the old saying goes: if you never try, you never know.

I’ve always been the kind of girl who would just go out and purchase something that I wanted. However, as I’ve gotten older, my tastes have changed and I now revel in thrifting, finding vintage items and making them my own. The hard work and effort I put into something has become both enjoyable and rewarding because I end up really appreciating what I’ve accomplished. But the best part of it all? You are ultimately creating a unique, one-of-a-kind item that cannot be found anywhere else.

{ Silver Mirrored Knobs in Orb }

After I painted the cabinet and let it dry, I took the sandpaper sponge and went around the edges and distressed it. I could have gone all out and beaten it up even more, however, this was something I wanted “lightly” antiqued.

photo 12

{ A little distressing with a sandpaper sponge provides a slight antiqued look }

Now, the moment you’ve been waiting for. The finished product is below with a little before and after action. Can you see what a difference a little paint, distressing and some new knobs can do? It looks like a completely different piece! Come back soon because I’ll be showcasing how I’ve styled the inside of this china cabinet.

photo 1

photo 3

photo 4

BeforeAfter

3 thoughts on “DIY | China Cabinet Makeover

Leave a Reply

