Music Muse | Tunes I’m Feeling Right Now

I’ve always been a music junkie — I literally grew up on classic rock and oldies. My parents (particularly my father), played a significant role in regard to what I was exposed to as a child in the way of tunes. Eric Clapton, Led Zeppelin, Simon & Garfunkel, The Rolling Stones, Fleetwood Mac, The Beatles, James Taylor, The Doors, Tom Petty, The Grateful Dead…you name it, I probably listened to it. Of course, as I got older, I was able to develop and form my own musical taste. I think of expanding your taste in music in relation to picking flowers from a wild, boundless garden. Each song or artist offers something very unique, just like an individual flower. You pick each stem that you fall in love with to ultimately add to your collection, which results in a radiant and robust bouquet. The compilation of my favorite artists and songs partially comprises who I am as a person – I truly believe that the kind of music someone listens to says a lot about them.

I have a very strong appreciation for all genres – even if it is not necessarily my favorite. However, I am almost always up for something new and will change what I am listening to as often as I change my Fantasy Football lineup (and if you know me, you know how frequent that is). Below are 5 artists I’m currently digging right now (and stay tuned – more music inspiration coming to the blog soon).

signature

 

1. Taylor Swift’s { 1989 Album }

taylor-swift-1989-album-target

{ Image Found Here }

I know – it’s probably all you’ve heard about for the last couple of weeks (especially if you are friends with me). I’m not usually one to lean toward the Pop genre on a regular basis, but I’ve been a fan of Taylor Swift since her first album dropped in 2006 when she was singing Country music. I’ve remained loyal to her because “Tim McGraw”, “Teardrops on My Guitar” and “Cold As You” once gave my life deep meaning back when I would drive around in my car with the windows down and the music blasting, desperately trying to get over an ex-boyfriend (come on, ladies – I know we’ve all been there before). I have to admit, I was extremely uneasy when I heard she wanted to go a different route and leave Country music behind, however, after reading reviews and hearing some opinions, I decided to bite the bullet and purchase her new album. Let me just tell you, I am now feeling a little guilty for ever questioning her (sorry, T-Swift). But in all seriousness, the album is fantastic! My favorite songs right now are: “Wildest Dreams”, “Blank Space”, “Wonderland”, “Clean”, and “Style”.

 

2. The Head and the Heart

HeadAndTheHeart-byDylanPriest2

{ Image Found Here }

Aside from classic rock, I’d say my favorite genre of music is Folk and Indie Folk. This is where my love for The Head and the Heart comes into play. I discovered this band from Seattle, Washington while listening to the Mumford & Sons Pandora station at work…and my oh my is it amazing. If you enjoy this type of music, I would highly recommend giving them a listen. My absolute favorite song by them is “Down in the Valley”.

 

3. Gregory Alan Isakov 

11-1024x682

{ Image Found Here }

I heard about this singer/songwriter from my dear friend, Ashley (who has excellent taste in music, might I add). Gregory Alan Isakov has a very soothing sound. His music is quite mellow and will put your chaotic life at ease. Try listening to “The Stable Song” first, and see how much you enjoy him. I am really feeling his vibe!

 

4. Paolo Nutini

208781_3.tif

{ Image Found Here }

Okay, I’ve been listening to him for a couple of years now – but it’s an artist I do not feel gains enough traction and attention that he so deserves. Looking at him, you would never expect the ridiculous voice that comes out – very Ray LaMontagne-esque. He’s a Scottish singer/songwriter and has one of the most soulful voices I’ve ever heard. I’ve enjoyed him so much, I put one of his songs on our CD wedding favor (“Growing Up Beside You”) – which in itself, was a tough decision to make because we were so limited with song selection. Some of my other favorites of his are “Last Request”, “New Shoes”, “Rewind”, “Jenny Don’t Be Hasty”, “These Streets” and “Coming Up Easy”. Oh and you’re welcome.

 

5. The Dirty Heads

cover326x326

{ Image Found Here }

Oh my goodness do I love this band! I’ve been fortunate enough to see them live twice and they sound just like they do in the studio. The Dirty Heads are from Huntington Beach, California and definitely bring that west coast feeling to the table. They are a blend of Reggae, Hip Hop and Rock – a very uncommon combination. If I had to compare them to other artists, I would say they have some Sublime and Matisyahu influences. I really enjoyed their Cabin By The Sea album but the newest one that was released in July, Sound of Change, offers something very different – very acoustic. Absolutely loving this one!

Leave a Reply

