Beauty Buy | Marsala { Pantone Color of the Year }

Hello lovelies and welcome to my very first beauty-related post!

In the past, I’ve been the kind of person that purchases beauty products I love…which mainly consists of Mac Cosmetics as I’ve been wearing the brand since high school. What can I say? I’m a woman that knows what I like. However, a couple of my best friends are really into cosmetics and one recently got me a little more involved in the world of beauty. As mentioned in a previous post, there is a whole subculture of makeup bloggers with YouTube channels, and I’ll admit, I was a little skeptical at first. Not because I doubted the credibility of these people, but because I just could not wrap my head around why I needed to read lipstick reviews or watch makeup application tutorials.

Fast forward a couple of months and I am officially hooked. I look at this makeup craze as another form of art. In fashion, what we wear expresses the mood we are in or who we are as a person and makeup essentially accomplishes the same thing. I can dig it.

3148649aa56a2a7209ffe5699a635114

{ My new favorite makeup blogger, Jaclyn Hill (thank you, Heather) – her YouTube channel can be found here }

Over the holiday, I decided to hit the mall to find a new blush. I have three Mac blushes that I regularly use but felt the need to add to my collection…first world problems, right? I was absolutely convinced that I was going pop into Sephora and purchase a Nars blush (which I had tirelessly researched prior to my visit). I had several colors jotted down that I wanted to swatch and as I stood there testing them, an adorable little guy working at the store basically stopped me dead in my tracks and asked if I had seen the Pantone + Sephora makeup collaboration. “No?” “Ummm, then you need to.”

If you did not already know, Pantone chooses a “color of the year”…and it’s a big. freaking. deal. It is essentially the industry standard and connects people from all over the globe with one seamless color system. It is what companies use to develop their logos and is also utilized for design, fashion, paint colors, and pretty much everything in the world. In 2013, the color of the year was Emerald, 2014 was Radiant Orchid but 2015 is Marsala. Although I was not Radiant Orchid’s biggest fan, it certainly had a heavy influence this past year. However, I am head over heels in love with Marsala. It’s such a deep, rich, full-bodied color that universally looks good on everyone.

Pantone-Color-of-Year-Marsala-jpg

Sephora had a large display at the front of the store consisting of various products that they collaborated with Pantone on…all Marsala related. From eyeshadow palettes to lipstick…and of course, a blush palette that was beyond words. This is what my new Sephora friend decided to show me. He took out the sample and swatched it on his hand – Wowza.

{ Sephora + Pantone Universe Shimmering Marsala Cheek Trio }

This palette has three components: a highlighter and two shades of blush – one being a true Marsala color. What was recommended to me was to apply the highlighter to your cheekbones, followed by the deep Marsala color underneath to give it a little depth and dimension, followed by the lighter blush color that can then be used to blend everything out. The outcome is truly unreal and it gives your cheeks a gorgeous glow. The blushes are rich, super pigmented and easy to build on. I was originally going to spend $30 on a single Nars blush but instead, spent $28 on three.

photo

{ The outcome = amaze }

Y’all, the highlighter alone is everything. If you are looking for something new and different to add to your cosmetic collection, I would highly recommend this blush trio. It is definitely transitional through the seasons as it is perfect for Winter, Spring, Summer and Fall. All hail Marsala!

signature

One thought on “Beauty Buy | Marsala { Pantone Color of the Year }

  1. Pingback: 2015 Trend Report | Home, Fashion, Beauty + All | wander + bloom

Leave a Reply

