Winter Blues | How to Tame Dry Skin + Chapped Lips

Welp – it’s mid-January and we are in the dead of Winter. Of course one would expect cold weather to accompany the season, however, it has been unusually bitter here in the South — was it last week we had a low of 11 degrees? With that said, my skin has taken a serious beating this past month – it is ridiculously dried out and parched, which rarely ever occurs as I would categorize my skin type as normal. If you’ve taken a ride on the struggle bus lately like I have, below are products that I am currently using that will banish your chapped, cracked and dry skin this season!

signature

Sugar Lip Treatment with SPF 15 by Fresh, $22.50

Screen Shot 2015-01-15 at 1.46.42 PM

Y’all — I love, love, love this stuff and it’s the real deal. I would even be bold enough to state that this is the best balm around. It’s velvety soft, moisturizing and provides the hydration that my poor, little chapped lips need. The best part of all? It comes in 11 different varieties and they all smell delicious. The one shown above (Sugar Rose’) is the one I use and although it looks intimidating, it is barely tinted – all it does is give the perfect rose flush to the lip. But if you are not one that loves a tinted lip balm, there is an untinted option as well. { Check them out here }

 

Ultra Repair Cream by First Aid Beauty, $6.50-$39

Screen Shot 2015-01-15 at 2.00.04 PM

Would you believe me if I told you that this stuff was life changing? Because it is. I wish I could take credit for discovering this but I simply cannot. My best friend, Heather, is the one who shared this magic with me and after purchasing it, I knew my world would never be the same. Wow. Just, wow. Here is the run down: you can use it on your face and your body – legs, arms, hands – it’s amazing. But what is great about this product is that it is made specifically for extremely dry skin – from people who are facing damage from harsh winter weather to those with various skin conditions such as eczema. Feeling a little hesitant and not willing to commit to spending $30 or $39 on a moisturizer? It comes in a variety of sizes, including a tester for $6.50. The proof is in the pudding – try it out first and get back to me. { Snag one here }

 

 Lip Exfoliator by e.l.f. Studio, $3

Screen Shot 2015-01-15 at 2.25.04 PM

Fact: This lip exfoliator will remove dead skin from your chapped lips. Fact: It tastes like brown sugar. Fact: It is only $3. How did I stumble upon it? Oddly enough, I was checking out at Old Navy and saw it in their “impulse buy” section. You know, that designated area by the cash registers that have fun, little goodies for you to browse while you are waiting in line in hopes that it will provoke you to make an impulse purchase? {Hello, Consumer Behavior 101}. I picked one of these up while waiting to pay for my new boyfriend jeans, and ended up taking it home with me. I can vouch that it actually works…and did I mention it was $3? { Take a gander here }

 

Oatifix Fresh Face Mask by Lush, $6.95

Screen Shot 2015-01-15 at 2.31.20 PM

Let me start out by saying, I heart Lush. It is such a wonderful retailer with a great mission. Everything they sell is developed by them, they use little to no preservatives, make their products from organic fruits and vegetables and refuse to purchase their ingredients from companies that partake in animal testing. Secondly, I just started getting into face masks. So the two combined? A match made in heaven. When I’m not using the Mask of Magnaminty, which I use to exfoliate my skin, I’m using the Oatifix Fresh Face Mask which is made for really dry skin. Made with soothing ingredients such as bananas, oatmeal and ground almonds – it will leave your skin soft and nourished. { Pick it up here }

 

7 Dry Hair Hydrating Day Cream with 7 Plants by Phyto, $28

Screen Shot 2015-01-15 at 2.53.52 PM

Is your hair feeling super dry this time of year? This hydrating, leave-in treatment will protect your hair from split ends, frizz, flyaways, and static. Oh, and a little bit goes a long way. If you have never used Phyto products before, I would highly recommend. I can honestly say that everything I’ve used by this company has been top notch. { Grab one here }

Leave a Reply

