Swooning | A Mishmosh of Things I’m Obsessed With

Hello lovelies!

Although I have a series of Autumn related posts coming your way (and a special post on boots requested by my dear friend, Rachel), I wanted to currently focus on the random things that I’ve been obsessing over as my life has recently been a “mishmosh” of  beautiful chaos. And what better way to correlate this blog post to my current situation? Life has been quite hectic these last several weeks and I really cannot complain. Between weddings, bridal showers, bachelorette weekends, gender reveal parties, baby showers and a frenzied professional life to match, I’ve had a difficult time creating a single blog post that sticks to one theme! Alas, below are some things I’m obsessed with, working on and looking forward to…AKA: a window into my life.

Savannah Bee Company

Screen Shot 2015-09-19 at 6.54.04 PM

Last weekend, I had the pleasure of visiting a city that I’ve been dying to see for years – Savannah, Georgia. One of my very close friends had a bachelorette bash in this quaint, historic town and it was truly beautiful and inspiring. Although many of our activities involved bouncing around from restaurant to bar, I had the opportunity to step inside Savannah Bee Company on a walk back to our hotel. The company has been around since 1999 and the owner, a beekeeper, cultivated a business that offers some of the best products and ingredients around – from tupelo honey (of course), to various skin care products. When I was in the store, I picked up one of their best sellers, Royal Jelly Body Butter. I purchased the sensitive skin version of this “pot of gold” so I could use it as a face moisturizer. This stuff is the real deal. My skin has never been so soft – honey is a really great ingredient for your skin.

Cannoli Dip

12002122_10153097136824109_2605614145679892131_n

Yeah, that’s right. Cannoli dip. I made it this past week for a work bridal shower (pictured in the middle) and it was legit. Even more? SUPER easy to make. You combine all the below ingredients in a bowl and chill in the fridge. I served mine with chocolate and honey graham crackers but fruit would also be a delicious and viable option. Make it. Make it tomorrow.

  • 1 32oz container part skim or fat free ricotta cheese
  • ⅓ cup powdered sugar
  • 1 container fat-free cool whip, thawed
  • 1½ – 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • Mini chocolate chips
  • Fresh orange zest

Kitchen PINspiration

Since moving into our new home, I’ve been on Pinterest, pinning away like a fiend. I cannot wait to start working on one room at a time (that’s really the only way to do it, right?). In previous posts, I’ve touched on other things I’m obsessed with for the home (particularly things for the dining and living rooms). However, I’m getting geared up for Spring because we will be tackling a kitchen renovation. Honestly – there is not too terribly much to tackle. But we will be updating the cabinets, fixtures, pulls, and most importantly, the counters and back splash. My situation: I used to be captivated by all white kitchens. Although I still think they are classic and chic, I’m really feeling a few different looks that I’ve recently seen. This leads me to believe that we will be going in a different direction but one cannot be sure. I’m sure our minds will change between now and April, but this is what I’m in love with right now.

1. Greige Cabinets + Oil Rubbed Bronze Pulls & Faucet + White Subway Tile Back Splash + White Granite Counter Tops (in some ways I’ve also feeling a butcher block counter but the verdict is still out).

Screen Shot 2015-09-19 at 7.03.09 PM Screen Shot 2015-09-19 at 7.01.34 PM

2. Dark Cabinets + Brass Pulls + White Subway Tile + Butcher Block or White Counter Tops (Shahin and I constantly bicker over brass. I love it but him? Not so much. It might take a little persuading on my end. We shall see what transpires!)

Screen Shot 2015-09-19 at 7.40.10 PM Screen Shot 2015-09-19 at 7.39.22 PM

Our Anniversary Trip

I cannot believe our two year wedding anniversary is in less than a month. We did not really do it up for our first anniversary and instead of doing the traditional wedding anniversary gifts (year 1 = paper, year 2 = cotton, year 3 = leather, etc.), we wanted to start our very own tradition of going on an anniversary trip. The hubs and I are definitely a couple that march to our own beat and we much prefer memories over tangible things (but don’t get me wrong – I still love “things”). This year, we are combining our anniversary with our 30th birthdays and taking a trip to Washington, D.C. I’ve been really amped about this vacation because the only time I’ve been to D.C. was in middle school on a field trip. With it being one of Shahin’s favorite cities and a semi-reasonable drive, it should definitely be a great little getaway! Being me, I’ve done an extensive amount of research on things to see and do in the city. I’ve read review after blog post after article on the best restaurants and bars and definitely have that portion of the trip mapped out. Now, for the places we’ve made reservations for:

1. Zaytinya & Minibar by José Andrés

home1

barmini_Interior-1_By-Ken-Wyner

There is a big chef and restaurateur in town and his name is José Andrés. He’s won a James Beard Award, named Chef of the Year by Bon Appetit and was even recognized as one of Time’s 100 Most Influential People. He owns restaurants in some of the bigger cities (Beverly Hills, Las Vegas and South Beach) but several in D.C. One of his newer spots, Zaytinya is a Mediterranean restaurant that has received nothing but rave reviews. Excited to check this place out! After dinner, we’re going to walk on over to his bar that recommends a reservation (yes – real life). Barmini is supposed to be a unique experience with whimsical and innovative cocktails. Looking forward to seeing what they serve up.

2. Toki Underground

EBYramen_OCT

Ramen. Enough said. But really, Toki Underground is written up all over the place. No reservation yet but hoping we can hit it up for lunch one day while we are there!

3. Founding Farmers

pff-1

I’m really looking forward to doing brunch here as Founding Farmers is known as one of the trail blazers behind “farm-to-table”. With menu items like carrot cake pancakes and goat cheese and beet poached eggs…you really can’t get find a more interesting and diverse selection of eats.

4. Blue Duck Tavern

Screen Shot 2015-09-19 at 8.41.54 PM

I made a reservation at Blue Duck Tavern for our anniversary dinner. It’s been written up all over the place and one of those spots that you apparently cannot miss in D.C. Oh, and there is bone marrow on the menu. My heart just melted.

There are definitely some other places I want to check out: Good Stuff Eatery which is Top Chef‘ Alum Spike Mendelsohn’s spot, Copycat Co., Luke’s Lobster, Christina Tosi’s Momofoku Milk Bar (if the D.C. location is open yet), Golden Brown Delicious, Baked and Wired as well as a few others. Oh and Persian food. We will definitely be eating that in D.C. (need to pay homage to the husband’s culture).

5. Things to See + Do

Museums. All the museums. Not really, but we will definitely be spending our days checking them out. Particularly Air and Space and Natural History.

Stay tuned on this adventure – I’ll be doing a D.C. round up post in October after our trip.

signature

One thought on “Swooning | A Mishmosh of Things I’m Obsessed With

Leave a Reply

